PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] No Grub or boot options

celticzero
January 22nd, 2012, 03:14 PM
Hello, this is my first time posting here. A few years ago I installed Ubuntu(I think 9.10) just to play around and had zero issues installing/dual booting. I have just recently re partitioned my main windows boot drive and made some space available for Ubuntu. I installed everything and it seemed to go smoothly but when I attempt to boot, grub doesn't load and it boots straight to ubuntu. If I go into BIOS and set Windows Boot as my first priority, it will boot to windows, but if I set first priority to the actual HDD that Windows and Ubuntu are installed on it boots straight to Ubuntu. I am using Windows 7 64 bit and trying to dual boot Ubuntu 11.10. Thank you for any help.

nipunshakya
January 22nd, 2012, 03:30 PM
Hi. First off all, welcome to the forum
Seeing at your description, it seems like windows and linux are booting in harmony. Just the thing is u aren't getting the grub loader to show u the menu from where u wish to select between os.
so, first u boot to ubuntu. Then goto /etc/default/grub and open the grub file. There, u change the line GRUB_TIMEOUT=30
after that, goto terminal and type

sudo update-grub
Restart your machine. u will get your grub and 30 seconds to choose between your OSs..
hope this helps.

Regards,WinuxUser

celticzero
January 22nd, 2012, 03:42 PM
I followed your instructions exactly and am still having the same issue.

nipunshakya
January 22nd, 2012, 03:50 PM
ok a couple of questions here....
1. is your windows and ubuntu on same drive?
2. did u save your file last time(which i said u to edit)? silly question #2 but still....

celticzero
January 22nd, 2012, 03:53 PM
They are both installed on the same HDD yes. The only way I can get Windows to boot is to go into BIOS and select Windows Boot Manager as my #1 option, if I select the HDD itself, it will boot straight to unbuntu. The file saved, I've verified its been edited properly.