PDA

View Full Version : [kubuntu] GRUB2 Kubuntu 11.10 + Windows 7 Booting

ArgentSun
January 21st, 2012, 09:34 PM
Here is the issue I am having. I've been using Windows 7 exclusively on this machine for about 2 years now, and decided to finally put Linux on it, so I don't have to use my laptop for work all the time. Decided on Kubuntu 11.10, and installation went smooth, as far as I can tell.

The problem comes when I try to boot into Windows 7. GRUB gives me a black screen for a couple of seconds (as if it's thinking), and then brings me back to the OS selection screen. Running Kubuntu has no such problems, and I am in fact posting from it right now.

Here's a paste of what the Boot Info Script gives me when I run it. It should be enough information. I suspect GRUB just doesn't know where the load the Windows from, but I can't be sure.

http://pastebin.com/FuHFa4QW

drs305
January 21st, 2012, 09:43 PM
ArgentSun

Welcome to the Ubuntu Forums!

You have installed Grub to the Windows partition, where it should not reside. The following link uses TestDisk to restore things and should work if the system backup is still intact:
http://sourceforge.net/apps/mediawiki/bootinfoscript/index.php?title=Boot_Problems:Boot_Sector

ArgentSun
January 21st, 2012, 10:00 PM
I thought something like that may have happened. Unfortunately, TestDisk already shows my Windows partition as being flagged for boot (sda2 according to my script). Unless I am mistaken, this means I will need to find a Windows recovery disk and try to fix things from there.

On that note, is there anything else I can do from Linux to fix it up?

P.S. Where should I be installing the GRUB loader in the future? In a dedicated /boot partition or just in /?

drs305
January 21st, 2012, 10:14 PM
This isn't about the boot flag. Try the steps in the TestDisk link if you can.

Background about Grub and Ubuntu: