PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] Installing Ubuntu Side by Side with Windows XP

touches
January 21st, 2012, 07:52 PM
hello Ubuntu Forums

I decided to install Ubuntu 11.10 as a dual boot option alongside my existing Windows XP OS. Now since i am new to partitions and dual booting i have certain doubts which halts my Ubuntu installation. I have 4 drives in my windows XP:c,d,e and f

Windows XP is installed on e drive ,its total size is 39 GB and free space is 16.9 GB. Now when i booted the live Ubuntu cd for installation and checked the install side by side option i was presented with the partition option of 50gb for windows and another 48 GB for Ubuntu

my doubt is from where does Ubuntu take up the 48 GB since it by default tries to create a partition in the windows drive? is it from the other drives?? And if i want proceed with the installation as per the Ubuntu partitioning option will any of my windows data get erased??

I have an F drive where i have 80 GB of free space. can i install Ubuntu in that drive without formatting the drive in windows as i have data which i don't want to lose

Please any guidance in installing side by side with windows xp would be very grateful

darkod
January 21st, 2012, 08:21 PM
The first thing when starting to use both windows and linux, is to forget the windows definition of "drive". The way windows uses it, it has two meanings and can create confusions.
If you only look in My Computer, you can't tell a difference between a partition and a disk. That's why it's better to look in Disk Management and give precise informations how many disks you have and their size, and the sizes of all the partitions on the disks.

If you already have the ubuntu cd, boot with it in live mode (Try Ubuntu option) and in terminal execute:
sudo fdisk -l (small L)

Post the results here and it will show all your partitions. If you can, also tell us on which partition is XP.

touches
January 22nd, 2012, 06:01 AM
@darkod