PDA

View Full Version : Text On Photos

Momof9Blessings
January 17th, 2012, 04:30 PM
Hi all,

I am using Ubuntu 11.10 (dual boot - never go into windows :) ) and CS5 in Wine!

Ok CS5 cannot do text in wine - that is ok.... it does everything else I need it to do....

BUT... I need to put text on things.

I have been using Pinta Image Editor, works ok. But once you leave the text, you can't go badck and edit it. I also need to be able to do things to the text, rotate, resize etc (change color).... and it would be nice to do this at anytime....

Here's another problem - I can't use GIMP - something about using the same files as something else.... might be CS5

I also need the program to leave my image as it is... not put it into a letter size paper (libre office), fotomax worked great, but made it do the above....

I do 12x12 digital scrapbooking pages and I am also a designer - so I need something I can manipulate the text....

Thank you for your help!!!

prokoudine
January 17th, 2012, 04:54 PM
Here's another problem - I can't use GIMP - something about using the same files as something else.... might be CS5

This is completely undecipherable. Whenever you complain about something, pretty please provide exact quote of what applications are telling you.

Photoshop installed on WINE should never affect native version of GIMP for Linux. You didn't try installing Windows version of GIMP via WINE, did you?

Momof9Blessings
January 17th, 2012, 05:21 PM
I tried to install Gimp via Ubuntu software center(I actually had it installed before I installed CS5 - was using it a bit, but was unhappy with it...I need things from photoshop for my business) (the last update, I remember seeing them taking off gimp stuff)....

I just tried again and this is the message...

"Package Dependencies cannot be resolved...