PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] I want to get rid of Windows

Rayon817
January 17th, 2012, 02:48 AM
I'm completely new to Ubuntu, but I love it so far. I currently have it installed on my laptop. I plan on buy an HDD for my desktop just to run Ubuntu.

When I installed it (11.04) on my laptop, I chose to install it alongside Windows 7. Since I upgraded 11.04 to 11.10, I haven't been seeing an option to boot to windows, but that doesn't matter to me. What I want to do is completely get Windows off and just have Ubuntu on my laptop. How do I go about doing this?

UltimateCat
January 17th, 2012, 03:25 AM
I am by no means a Ubuntu expert but I can tell you this:

It is a delicate task to : " delete a partition" or to "reformat a partition"

You may even want to consider paying a computer tech that is certified to do it.

The "Ubuntu Linux Bible" has been a help to me and "The Official Ubuntu Book" as well.
Gaining knowledge is one of the best things we can do for ourselves and in the future ( for myself) the knowledge has prevented me from making mistakes that could harm your OS.

Try going to Google or Bing or you may find help in the :

https://help.ubuntu.com/

Hope this helps

Scott Baker
January 17th, 2012, 04:25 AM