PDA

View Full Version : How to Sync your Blackberry in Linux

NinjitsuStylee
June 7th, 2006, 02:24 AM
UPDATES (Jan 2, 2007):

I am now editing the original post to reflect changes in software and also add tips on how to sync with Google Calendar. (ScheduleWorld now has built-in Google Calendar support, so this makes it easy to synchronize your address book and calendar between your Blackberry, Evolution, and Google Calendar).

Also, I haven't been able to check it out yet, but check out BCharge (http://sourceforge.net/forum/forum.php?forum_id=648040) to charge your Blackberry with Linux!

Ok, I'll admit, I used the title of the post to grab your attention. But don't worry! I'm not lying about anything here!

Just a few quick disclaimers before we get started:

0. I'm relatively new to linux, so bear with me here if I sound like a newbie. However, I had the balls to jump right into it and try lots of different things, so I hope you can appreciate that. Trust me, I spent many many hours of trial and error to figure this solution out. I think I'm going a little crazy, actually. The fact that I started this list with the number 0 should tell you something...

1. I didn't test this setup with anything else besides the stuff I had access to. In other words, I only know that this setup works on the Blackberry 7100t phone (although I imagine it would work for any 4.0.2 OS-enabled BB device) and it works with Evolution 2.4.1 (default with Ubuntu 5.10 Breezy Badger).

2. Don't expect a 100% sync. Everyone and their mother knows that Blackberry support on Linux is barely existant. Sure, there are a small handful of projects in development (http://www.ubuntuforums.org/showthread.php?t=179950) (infinite development, in most cases...sigh, vaporware). But for the most part there's not much we can do.

What I managed to figure out: