PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] "Find"function in openoffice.org

jimw
January 14th, 2012, 05:10 AM
I'm a writer, and I use openoffice.org on Ubuntu10.04. Unfortunately, recently something has gone wrong with the "find" function. When asked to find all instances of a word, it finds instead various random groups of letters.

This is a serious problem for my business. Does anyone know hat the problem is, and better yet, how to correct it?

JimW

claracc
January 14th, 2012, 07:50 AM
what version of openoffice are you using?.

I am using openofffice 3.3.0 and find key works well.

Perhaps there is some corruption in your openoffice profile, you can try to reset your user profile as is indicated in this link:
http://user.services.openoffice.org/en/forum/viewtopic.php?t=12426, go to section Resetting the user profile

squenson
January 14th, 2012, 08:04 AM
In the "Find and Replace" window, click on the button "More Options" and make sure that the option "Similarity search" is NOT checked.

jimw
January 15th, 2012, 05:58 AM
what version of openoffice are you using?.

I am using openofffice 3.3.0 and find key works well.

Perhaps there is some corruption in your openoffice profile, you can try to reset your user profile as is indicated in this link:
http://user.services.openoffice.org/en/forum/viewtopic.php?t=12426, go to section Resetting the user profile

I am using openoffice 3.2, the only one available through the ubuntu lists.

I looked at the tutorial link, but I couldn't find any such thing as Profiles.

JimW

IanW
January 15th, 2012, 09:16 AM

JimW

OpenOffice was made by Sun Micro. When Sun were bought out by Oracle, most of the OpenOffice Devs left & forked OpenOffice into LibreOffice.

Ubuntu switched to LibreOffice some time ago, which in Oneiric (Ubuntu 11.10) is currently at version 3.4.4-0ubuntu1

claracc
January 15th, 2012, 09:29 AM

I copy instructions to reset opeoffice profile from link provided:

Resetting the user profile