PDA

View Full Version : Asus Transformer Prime vs Note/Netbook

b2zeldafreak
January 12th, 2012, 10:26 PM
I'm looking at getting a tablet or laptop for college(University) starting in this fall semester.

I'm trying to compare Pros and Cons of the Asus Transformer with a dock vs. a similarly (650$) priced notebook/netbook at about 13 inches in size. (Although I've also looked at Macbook Pros and similarly priced laptops as well)

My dorm room will have it's own desktop supplied by the University with tons of software they have, and I also have a 17 inch i7 laptop. I figure any powerwork or paper typing can be done on these.

For the tablet/netbook I am planning on mainly doing notes in class, mainly with Evernote, and a handwriting app if I get the tablet.

I won't be buying for another 6 months, probably sometime around late July.

Any pros/cons that you guys could suggest would help me a ton with research.

Thanks!

(oh and I'm majoring in Computer Engineering btw)

Lucradia
January 13th, 2012, 03:27 AM
Notebooks cannot be compared to Netbooks, they're different classes of computers. However, Tablets and Netbooks can be compared since they're in the same umbrella class of Mobile >_>

Go figure that one out.

Anyway, I suggest, if you want an ultraportable device, get a tablet. You wouldn't be creating hefty word documents on it anyway.

BrokenKingpin
January 13th, 2012, 04:46 PM
Tablet
+ Great portability
- Touch screen only would suck pretty hard for taking long notes in class
- Expensive
+/- Limited to Android... which is fine for most people, I just hate being locked in on my devices

Transformer
+ Decent portability
+ Can work as a tablet, or dock into a keyboard for typing long notes
- Expensive
- Limited to Android... I think

Netbook
+ Decent portability, but a bit more combersom than a tablet
+ Has a keyboard which makes it great for typing notes
+ You can put any OS you want on it (I run the full Xubuntu release on mine)