PDA

View Full Version : gcc file operation

sree88
January 9th, 2012, 11:32 AM
hi all
i have to code to which has file operations.

i have got 2 issues

1. i want to get the file name from the user> append the file extension> and mention that file name in the fopen() command.

2. the file that i want to open is in a folder from where the C program is run.

ie if i have a file named 123.txt in a folder "jkl"
i ll get the name 123 from the user append .txt to the name and mention that name in
the fopen command.
i used the strcat() function to append, if the variable that holds the name is "fn", how can i mention it in the fopen command?

can u help me doin this??

MartijnNL
January 9th, 2012, 12:16 PM
Perhaps someone here can help you, but wouldn't it be easier asking this on some C programming forum? Or post it the Programming Talk (http://ubuntuforums.org/forumdisplay.php?f=39) forum instead.

Absolute Beginner Talk (and General Help) aren't really intended for programming questions.

nothingspecial
January 9th, 2012, 12:17 PM
Moved to Programming talk.

Zugzwang
January 9th, 2012, 01:01 PM
i used the strcat() function to append, if the variable that holds the name is "fn", how can i mention it in the fopen command?

Ok, so which type is "fn" of? I preesume that since it holds a string that was obtained using "strcat" that it is "char*". Now have a look at the documentation for the standard library what the parameters for "fopen" are (see, e.g., http://linux.die.net/man/3/fopen) - for the first variant of the function, the parameter "path" is of type "const char*", which speaks for compatibility. So try to fill in "fn" as your first parameter to the "fopen" function.

sree88
January 10th, 2012, 05:04 AM
thanks all... now it is cleared..

Tony Flury
January 10th, 2012, 01:25 PM
I am glad you got this solved, though to me this sounded very much like a homework or college assignment - in future you wont normally get help with such assignment.