PDA

View Full Version : so if I wanted to contribute to the linux kernel

imachavel
January 5th, 2012, 05:25 PM
but I am a total programming newb, I mean I know what

<body>

<header>

is. That is about it. I've build a few pc's, tower, psu, mobo, processor in socket, heatsink, ram, cd rom drive, hard disk drive, some raid installs, understand the concept of onboard devices or installed devices in expansion slots such as pcie. probably about the same as most people here I'm not going to claim I'm an expert. worked with windows, mac once or twice, ubuntu, linux mint, a few other distros. I know some things for example windows would use files like .net framework, open gl, direct x, system 32. I know 'terms' like interrupt request. I know what a .iso is. A flash drive. Anyway I'll stop here just wanted to get very very basic for a moment.

I figure someone who has almost no programming experience might not know how to contribute to the linux kernel, and I barely know the terminal commands but know things such as sudo su and sudo apt-get install and ifconfig etc.

What could I do besides installing linux and enjoying it's use as a free server freely distributable operating system, to contribute to the kernel. I love things such as android phones, which I hear the OS were formed from the linux kernel at one point. I even hear that at one point mac os (way before hfs) was written from a linux model. I know Linus Tourvald attended MIT? Is that correct? in 1969? What could I do to improve this OS, bug testing? Reverse engineering windows apps to work with linux drivers? Anything? I'd love to help, and know that people to contribute to the linux kernel work for free. I am currently downloading a windows 8 beta(32 bit version) and will install in virtual box.