PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] first install problems

skintner
January 4th, 2012, 11:06 PM
Hello,
TOTAL newbie here, so your patience is appreciated.

I finally got around to trying to install Ubuntu on an old win server 2003 box... tried10.04.1 failed at the install package after formatting the partitions... the desktop version 10.04.3 failed with cd errors (burned ISO)... downloaded and started the 11.10 desktop version (burned from ISO) and it's been sitting on the purple screen with the red to white dots for about 45 minutes now...

At this point I am not impressed... I've been told it should install easily --- Win Server 2003 installed on this old celeron box, you'd think this would as well.

I did format the drives that win was installed on... no biggie... but I would like to get Ubuntu installed. However, booting from the current cd it doesn't seem to want to go to any install, and there's no command prompt or options to install or run from cd.

so what now?
thanks
steve

darkod
January 4th, 2012, 11:10 PM
Are you burning at low speeds, not more than 8x?

Install CDs are always best to be burned at really low speeds since CDs today go up to 56x. It reduces errors.

Loading live mode (Try Ubuntu) can fail because of bad cd/image, or hardware issue, mostly graphics. What video card does the computer have?

Also, it's best to download with torrent always as it checks for corruption during download.

skintner
January 5th, 2012, 12:50 AM
Ok, I will use ISO burner and select a slower speed, but I find it interesting that none of the ISO files I downloaded for my MS Action pack subscription gave me any problems.

thanks,
steve

SteveHillier
January 5th, 2012, 01:04 AM
Steve,
Take note of Darkod's comments about burning CDs. I never burn at more than half the maximum and I always do a verify after burning.