PDA

View Full Version : [SOLVED] Questions about Lubuntu

Flanmaster
January 4th, 2012, 04:56 PM
My situation and then questions:

I am a student of languages and switched to Ubuntu for it's ease of use while studying languages. (language select at login screen, including keyboard layout, language support in open/libre-office, and more. Ubuntu is now user UNfriendly for students of language so I am looking for a different distro that will satify my needs.

In the past I have preferred ubuntu over all for a variety of reasons in addition to the core reasons and for familiarity I'd like to stick to close as possible so Lubuntu might provide that opportunity.

1) Will Lubuntu have language repositories that enable me to install multiple languages on system

2) will Lubuntu continue to support "select language at login" in the login manager? (including keyboard layout

3) will I have access to 3rd party drivers the same way I did in ubuntu in the sytem settings.

4) will lubuntu be able to handle the additional applications that I will want to install, such as libreoffice, eternallands, gimp, blender3d, inkscape, planeshift, chromium-bsu, galaga, etc. IronHide optimus (opensource support for nvidia's hybrid optimus gpu system) etc.?

I have an asus n53sv intel quad core intel/nvidia optimus hybrid gpu 3gb ram 500gb hd.

Thank you.

If this is not the correct Thread to ask these questions please inform me of the correct thread.

Thank you again.

nothingspecial
January 4th, 2012, 05:02 PM
Questions moved from the Lubuntu One Stop Thread to a thread of their own

I have questions about Lubuntu. Is this the thread to ask them or do I need a different thread?

No, You will get a much broader response to your questions if you make your own thread rather than post at the end of a huge thread that most forum readers will not read. Please use the lubuntu prefix for your questions.

Flanmaster
January 4th, 2012, 05:18 PM