PDA

View Full Version : How to install & run PCSX2 0.9.8 on Ubuntu 11.10 x64?

emptycoder
January 3rd, 2012, 05:03 PM
Hello everyone, I'm having a problem with PCSX2 emulator, I searched everywhere but it seems I can't find any solution, hopefully someone would help me here.
I did installing the folllowing (The Required Dependencies) with this command:

sudo apt-get install subversion libjpeg62-dev build-essential libgtk2.0-dev libxxf86vm-dev x11proto-xf86vidmode-dev automake1.9 libbz2-devAlso this one:

sudo apt-get install libglu1-mesa-devThe SVN:

svn co https://pcsx2.svn.sourceforge.net/svnroot/pcsx2 pcsx2Finally build it:

cd pcsx2
sh build.sh allAfter that, I didn't know what to do, there was supposed to be a file named PCSX2 to launch the emulator, but it seems I can't find it anyway, I search PCSX2 folder on Home folder and there was nothing like that.

I'm not a Linux Expert, kinda newbie... but I do have a good background, so please, somebody could tell me what's going on?
Thanks.

2F4U
January 3rd, 2012, 06:26 PM
It seems as if there is a ppa available for pcsx2:

https://launchpad.net/~gregory-hainaut/+archive/pcsx2.official.ppa (https://launchpad.net/%7Egregory-hainaut/+archive/pcsx2.official.ppa)

Any reason why you don't use that?

emptycoder
January 3rd, 2012, 10:10 PM
I have added the PPA you mentioned, but I still can't find PCSX2 file to launch the Emulator, there's a document file named INSTALL which it says that after installing the emulator all I need is launch PCSX2.
Any Ideas?

WienerWuerstel
January 4th, 2012, 12:03 AM
I have added the PPA you mentioned, but I still can't find PCSX2 file to launch the Emulator, there's a document file named INSTALL which it says that after installing the emulator all I need is launch PCSX2.
Any Ideas?

Adding the PPA is not enough. You need to actually install the Program too.

sudo apt-get update
sudo apt-get install pcsx2

emptycoder
January 4th, 2012, 12:34 AM