PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] Linux that just works

nickelbox
January 3rd, 2012, 02:29 PM
I am new to Linux but am very interested in learning more

I have a friend who has a PC that's about 5-7 years old. He is running Windows XP and I the last time I visited him, he complained his PC was running slow again. I did a complete reinstall about a year ago and that seemed to help but now it's back to how it was before. As XP is nearing the end of it's life, I have been contemplating moving him over to Linux but have a couple concerns.

Firstly, I need something that just works out of the box with a very user friendly GUI. He's the type that knows just enough to get around and not much more. I can see him getting frustrated quickly and then not using Linux altogether. I don't want this to happen.

Secondly, I need things to update seamlessly. For example Firefox, Java, etc. The reason for this again, is for simplicity sake and because I am 2 hours away and can't always be running to his house to help him out.

I don't believe system requirements would be an issue.

Suggestions?

Thanks all

cortman
January 3rd, 2012, 02:35 PM
Xubuntu. It's lightweight so it will run very fast, intuitive interface, very easy to customize, and comes with some great software.
I like Gnome shell myself and that's what I use on my production machine, but I'm more and more impressed with XFCE and Xubuntu, the more I experiment with them.

Lars Noodén
January 3rd, 2012, 02:37 PM
You can try downloading the live CDs for Ubuntu/Kubuntu/Xubuntu/Lubuntu and see which one you like best. They are all the same system (Ubuntu) but with different pre-defined defaults. Then when you've made your choice, you can use the same disc for installation.

N00b-un-2
January 3rd, 2012, 02:41 PM
5-7 years old should still be plenty recent enough to have enough power to run most modern distros.