PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] So, somehow the start menu took away the "apps" button...

Artic_princess
January 3rd, 2012, 04:10 AM
I'm using Ubuntu 11.10 in my netbook and so far, I've been happy with it. However, just a few minutes ago, I restarted and somehow the start menu took away the "apps" button. Instead of 4 buttons for "shorcuts" "apps" "files" and "music", there are only three, and apps is gone!

How do I fix this? :( I installed all the updates btw and everything was working right out of the box when installed a few days ago.

syerges
January 3rd, 2012, 04:12 AM
was the "apps" on your dock?

Artic_princess
January 3rd, 2012, 04:17 AM
Nope... Like, when you hit the start button and you're supposed to see the 4 options... but the apps button is gone and I can't access my apps.

Sorry, I'm a noob with Linux :(

syerges
January 3rd, 2012, 04:20 AM
Start button? If you read this already, I was confused... you mean the dash home?

Artic_princess
January 3rd, 2012, 04:25 AM
Uhm... Like I said, I'm a newbie with Ubuntu... there's no need to be rude >:( I want to learn this thing and if I'm gonna be treated as if I was a fool, then I'd rather re-install windows in this thing instead of trying something new, which I REALLY want to do, please! /rant

Ok, when the bar shows up, at the top of it, there's a button with the ubuntu logo, when I scroll the mouse pointer to it, it says "start" (inicio, in spanish, I'm not American). That's why I called it the "Start button", isn't that a bit uhm... obvious?

Anyway, when you hit that button, it shows 4 options at the bottom: shortcuts, apps, files and music, kinda like a smartphone or whatever.

Either way, I need to access those apps (firefox, liberoffice and others) and fix the "start menu" or whatever you call it in Ubuntu so I can re-access those apps and have a "smooth" experience.

How do I do this?

syerges
January 3rd, 2012, 04:26 AM