PDA

View Full Version : FreeNAS won't work but Maybe Ubuntu Will...

Mattaus
January 3rd, 2012, 01:49 AM
Hi all,

I turned an old PC into a FreeNAS based home NAS the other day. For reasons that remain a complete mystery to me the NAS decided to not function after 3 days despite nothing having being changed.

I searched my butt off to no avail, but the problem is definitely a software issue with FreeNAS simply just not liking my gear - why it worked for a few days then bit the dust is beyond me. The hardware is fine and I am still determined to use it for my home NAS. I figured I could just put Ubuntu or Lubuntu on the machine, set up SAMBA file sharing and away I go - not ideal but it'll work.

HOWEVER, I wish to install the OS to the same thumb drive that FreeNAS was installed on - this frees up all the internal HDD's for content.

I'm a bit of a noob so I'm going to try and create a persistent Live USB stick for the job. All the machine will do is hold data and share it over my network. I won't even have a screen plugged in. I'll just be treating it's shared folders as folders on my Windows desktop.

Will this work or if not can someone suggest a better idea? I am most certainly all ears!!!

Cheers.

- Matt

mbarland
January 3rd, 2012, 07:57 AM
It'll work, just run through the Ubuntu installer and tell it to install to the flash drive. I did the same recently, but my flash drive died after running the server for a few months. It was kind of a pain to reset everything up, so I put it on a HD partition. I would recommend the same, a small installation of Ubuntu wont take up that much space.

Mattaus
January 3rd, 2012, 09:07 AM
I ended up using the universal USB installer because I only had a spare 4GB flash drive, and Ubuntu wanted 4.3GB. How the Universal Installer goes about fitting it on I'm not sure, but it has worked.