PDA

View Full Version : IF conditions in R

nischal_rd
January 2nd, 2012, 01:56 PM
Hey guys,

I am facing some basic issues in R .

i have 2 objects c1 , c2 and i am doing this:

IF(c1 < c2) { do something} - this is not working.

Am i doing something wrong?

I am new to R and i would be glad if someone could help me out.

Thanks in advance.

Cheers.

squaregoldfish
January 2nd, 2012, 04:32 PM
You have to be more specific than saying "it's not working". Please provide some sample code and any errors generated.

Steve.

nischal_rd
January 3rd, 2012, 04:45 AM
Hey Steve,

C1 and c2 are 2 vectors and sorry for not specifying the error,
I am getting a true/false not found error.

I am trying to convert the vectors into numeric by using as.numeric but i am still unable to compare c1 and c2.

gunksta
January 3rd, 2012, 05:12 AM
When you ask a programming question, it helps if you provide an example for others to work with. Asking a generic why is 'foo' not working is a difficult question because there are often many reasons something might fail to work and figuring out which one(s) apply to you is difficult without something more to work with.

But, in this case I think I can figure out the basic problem. You are using vectors, a fundamental data type in R, but you aren't vectorizing your logic. R doesn't do loops well (SLOW). In some cases this is an absolute curse, in other cases it is a semantic blessing. I often find myself working in other languages wishing I could use some of the clean syntax that is so easy in R. (Honestly, a merger between R and ANSI compatible SQL would be my dream language).

Anywho - you need to first figure out what you are trying to do. There are two reasonable ways to interpret what you appear to be trying to do. Are you trying to:

Compare the vectors in their entirety. Thus, if ALL values of c1 are < ALL values of c2, then do something. OR