PDA

View Full Version : How do I learn to program WELL?

venom104
January 1st, 2012, 08:30 AM
I've been a computer science student for many years now. I've taken classes on everything from "introduction to computer science" to XML. Quite honestly, I haven't learned jack **** from classes when it comes to programming. I can do just about ANY programming assignment from any of my textbooks (and I design and code go though the exercises over and over again, just to have fun) but I haven't learned to program well.

Let me give you an example of what I mean by "learning to program well". I was developing a roguelike for a while, and I developed a prototype of a random map generator. But, instead of compiling all my cpp (source) files at the command line, I was using #include directives to include the source files in my program. From the mouths of the roguelike development irc channel that I regularly attend, this isn't what "real" programmers do. Here are a few more examples, I know what a constructor and a deconstructor are, but I don't know what to put in them besides deleting pointers. Also, I was writing a program that told the user how many words he/she/it entered at the command line, using a char * and the new keyword, but I wasn't sure where to delete the pointer because I was returning pointer to a char out of a function.

Books have taught me so much, but I haven't learned GOOD programming practices and I haven't developed my own style of coding yet. How can I do this?

I'm applying for internships (I don't feel that I am ready to be a real programmer yet) and working on my roguelike and textbook problems, but I don't feel that's enough. I feel like I could benefit from having someone mentor me by giving me problems and grading my solutions, but that's never going to happen.

What can I do to learn how to program well?

And yes, I have looked into the "read before posting" threads here, they didn't answer my question.

ofnuts
January 1st, 2012, 01:05 PM