PDA

View Full Version : Why did you upgrade?

Scott Baker
December 29th, 2011, 09:13 PM
I've been reading various posts in the last couple of weeks regarding upgrading and the dreaded Unity. I see lots of complaints about stuff not working anymore, stuff having to be replaced, settings having to be adjusted, etc. What amazes me though are the number of people that have said that EVERYTHING WORKED FINE UNTIL THE UPGRADE!! As a technician, I don't normally recommend upgrades until it's ABSOLUTELY NECESSARY! This will normally include broken (beyond saving or repair) components or a dead comp. So here is my question to upgraders everywhere. WHY DID YOU UPGRADE?? Was it some new piece of software that was going to change your life? Do you have lemming-like tendancies and feel it was the right thing to do. Did the voices in your head scream "just do it". How about sharing some of your reasons folks. For me, 11.04 offered two things. Better/easier set-up of my N wireless goodies, and the option to switch back and forth between Unity and classic desktops, until I'm comfortable with Unity. [-o< (P.S. As of this date 11.10 is available, but I'm not considering upgrading yet, because everything I normally use, works)

LowSky
December 29th, 2011, 09:44 PM
People like new. Most users here are not 100 people organizations, they are nerds with a laptop or desktop. Some buy the newest parts as soon as they are released, some scrap to old stuff to run web servers. Others just want a 10 year old PC to still run. Most want shiny and new because it promises better performance or new shiny interfaces. If the new install goes bad, just dust off an older copy and install that.

The linux environment pushes upgrades. Look through the forums, users urge upgrades on one another, using statements like the newer version might fix that glitch.