PDA

View Full Version : Channel Changing script for a Cisco d9865

Meph1st0
December 28th, 2011, 06:44 PM
I'm attempting to get my myth box to work with my shiny new AFN decoder. It's a Cisco d9865. Previous AFN decoders were made by Scientific Atlantic and now that company has been bought out by Cisco. If I'm not mistaken (which I frequently am) I need to create a new channel changing script for this new STB. I've never done this before and don't even know where to begin.

I've ordered a IR blaster and have yet to receive it. However, I've got a device I can use to record the IR codes from the remote. I figure I might be able to get a head start on it. I have not been able to find any remote codes anywhere on the interwebs. I've only seen threads where others are attempting to get the same information.

I'm using a PC-HDTV 5500 tuner card (specified as MJPEG capture Card in mythtv-setup) with the setup that I'll only be using as a capture card to capture from the coax output from the decoder. I believe I've set it up correctly so far in mythtv-setup except for the "external channel change command". In the mythtv wiki it shows /usr/bin/ch_chan.sh in that field but I don't see that file in my install. Thought maybe Mythbuntu might have moved the channel changing scripts to a different directory but I don't know where.

I've also seen the Mythchanger utility but that appears to only be used with firewire capable STBs. Unfortunately this STB is not equipped with firewire.

Any further input on this would be hugely appreciated. Is there anyone else out there attempting to use Mythtv with the new AFN Cisco d9865?

jobcol
December 29th, 2011, 06:44 AM
hi
did you have a previously working Channel Change script from a previous STB?

Meph1st0
December 29th, 2011, 07:10 AM