PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] Upgrade to 11.10

Khalil Ibrahim
December 28th, 2011, 12:56 PM
Hello there,

I am trying to upgrade to the new 11.10 ubuntu. I am on 11.04. I already updated all my software, but the upgrade is too big to be downloaded by day. Since we have a limited connection. But I can do this by night. This is my first issue. The second one is that I would like to download the upgrade and install it later. So I am searching for a complete guide on how to do this using command line (since I would be sleeping not watching over). I know it could be done with cronetab, but I can't really apply what I know to my case. Please step by step I am an artist no computer guy.
Thanks in advance.
K.I.

Paddy Landau
December 28th, 2011, 01:39 PM
Go to Update Manager and select Check.
Then close Update Manager without updating.

Then:

Open Synaptic Package Manager (if you don't have it, open Ubuntu Software Centre and install synaptic).
Press Mark All Upgrades.
Press Apply.
Select the check-box Download package files only.
Press Apply.

That will download the files but not install them.
Later, you can open either Update Manager or Synaptic Package Manager and apply the updates.

Khalil Ibrahim
December 28th, 2011, 01:55 PM
Go to Update Manager and select Check.
Then close Update Manager without updating.

Then:

Open Synaptic Package Manager (if you don't have it, open Ubuntu Software Centre and install synaptic).
Press Mark All Upgrades.
Press Apply.
Select the check-box Download package files only.
Press Apply.

That will download the files but not install them.
Later, you can open either Update Manager or Synaptic Package Manager and apply the updates.
I am grateful, but then I think I have to be there to do this manually, when I need it to be synchronized after midnight (when I have an open free download possibility). Could you still help me out with this?
Regards,
K.I.

Paddy Landau
December 28th, 2011, 02:59 PM