PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] Ubuntu 10.04 Blank Screen on startup. Is the graphics card the problem? EN9500GT

andrewhg
December 27th, 2011, 01:09 PM
Hi I am new to Ubuntu. I recently had Ubuntu 10.04 installed on my computer. It worked great the first day, second day it was freezing a bit then it froze a bit on the third day it froze and a bunch of text started to appear on a black screen. I restarted and ended up getting tty2 which I guess is the terminal.
I logged on as my user. From the research I have done I think that it might be related to my graphics card? I have a EN9500GT.
The rest of my system is as follows.
A-Data 2GB DDR2
Asus P5QL Pro
Intel C2Q 2.33ghz
WD5000AAKS

EDIT: I tried 'startx' mainly because I didn't know any better and got a bunch of gibberish. The part that hints at some sort of error seems to be "(EE) Microsoft Mocrosoft(R) 2.4 GHz Transceiver v6.0 failed to initialize for relative axes...."
I am new to ubuntu so you will have to speak slowly :)
Thanks

jerrrys
December 28th, 2011, 04:56 PM
If graphic drivers are needed, its usually from day one. So not owning one, I cannot say for sure. The links below show some possibilities.

http://www.googlubuntu.com/results/?cx=006238239194895611142:u-ocqbntw_o&q=9500GT+driver&sa=Search&cof=FORID:9

http://www.googlubuntu.com/results/?cx=006238239194895611142:u-ocqbntw_o&q=9500GT&sa=Search&cof=FORID:9

Did you update after you installed ubuntu?

If not, open up a tty and enter:

sudo apt-get update

and if that works without any errors; enter:

sudo apt-get upgrade

Also when you enter your password, there will be no visual verification in terminal when entered.

Please post back with any questions you may have.

EDIT: also Ctrl Alt F7 will terminate your tty session and return you to your desktop.

if you have one

andrewhg
December 28th, 2011, 10:55 PM