PDA

View Full Version : [SOLVED] Failed to install on a USB flash drive

dannyarcher
December 25th, 2011, 01:58 PM
Hi, I'm a newbie to ubuntu & linux.
For some reason, I need to install the ubuntu linux on a 8GB USB flash drive to provide myself a portable linux solution.

I just need to install ubuntu using the whole USB flash drive, but the installer said "The attempt to mount a file system with type ext4 in ...... at / failed" everytime after i have passed the step to choose which device or partition to install on.

I have tried file system type of either ext2 or ext4 , and also ubuntu version 11.10 and 10.10, all just got the same error.

Any idea about the problem?
Sorry for my bad English. thanks.

Here are some screenshots of the error message:
http://img37.imageshack.us/img37/9315/ubuntu1b.jpg
http://img651.imageshack.us/img651/7291/ubuntu2.jpg
(can't resize the photos in the editor so i just give links to the photos)

JD8182
December 25th, 2011, 02:09 PM
Are you able to load up Ubuntu Live from the USB Thumb Drive? Instead of installing, try it first "live" from the USB.

dannyarcher
December 25th, 2011, 03:02 PM
Are you able to load up Ubuntu Live from the USB Thumb Drive? Instead of installing, try it first "live" from the USB.
Boot Error.
What should i do?

I created the live usb with the Start Up Disk Creator and have no problem in creating other live usb.
Is it the problem of my USB flash drive?

darkod
December 25th, 2011, 03:43 PM
What are you installing from? Another usb stick? CD?

You are not trying to install onto the same usb stick you are running the install from, right?

West201
December 25th, 2011, 03:54 PM
Did you verify MD5 of the ISO ?

dannyarcher
December 25th, 2011, 05:14 PM
What are you installing from? Another usb stick? CD?

You are not trying to install onto the same usb stick you are running the install from, right?
Absolutely not.
I have tried installing from both CD and another USB stick.

darkod
December 25th, 2011, 05:19 PM