PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] install sound drivers, and webcam

EVILOX
December 21st, 2011, 08:25 PM
Hi
I am new to linux, and especially Ubuntu, and I need help.

I have installed Ubuntu on my office Desktop (HP D530), and it installed pretty easily. The problem is, I am trying to install sound drivers, and webcam, as well as other software, but when I click on the application icons, nothing happens. What am I doing wrong?

Thanks

oldos2er
December 21st, 2011, 10:41 PM
Are you clicking these things from within the Software Center, or ? Usually appropriate drivers are installed along with the OS.

Can you give us your hardware specs?

EVILOX
December 22nd, 2011, 01:14 PM
I have tried installing via the software centre, but don't see the option. The drivers and software I want to install is on a disk and a usb. I have a HP D530 system on which I want to install this software. I would appreciate maybe a walkthrough or guideline on how to install my sound drivers, webcam, and other software.
Thanks

emmomalick
December 22nd, 2011, 01:36 PM
What type of software are you trying to install?

BTW sound drivers and other hardware drivers are automatically installed in Ubuntu, you have no need to install them manually. Most of the drivers are built into UBUNTU.

Can you go up to the sound icon and make sure that nothing is muted.

I think there's might be a problem of codec. When you try to play a file a new window appear click on SEARCH button and install all required CODEC from there. OR go to Synaptic Package Manager under SYSTEM > ADMINISTRATION > SYNAPTIC PACKAGE MANAGER install VLC player or search on Ubuntu Software Center for VLC.

END OF PROBLEM.

EVILOX
December 22nd, 2011, 01:42 PM
I have no sound at all. VLC is installed, and the sound settings are fine. I have tried multiple media types, and still no sound. I also have to install google chrome, google earth, and my webcam, but it is giving me a message saying that the application is not recognized.