PDA

View Full Version : [SOLVED] problem installing on internal drive.

hungryghost
December 20th, 2011, 01:14 AM
Hello everyone, I wasn't sure whether to post in absolute beginners as thats what I am, so please bear this in mind when you answer, thanks!

I have been interested in ubuntu and linux for a while now; the reason being that whenever I have used opensource windows software it has been superior to commercial versions; also an article by science fiction writer Neal Stephenson "in the beginning was the command line" made Linux sound cool.(Using the metaphor of cars, Windows were cheap, fairly reliable station wagons, Macs were expensively sleek sports cars, and Linux boxes were free tanks!) I liked the idea of it, so recently I decided to take the plunge.

I downloaded the live CD ISO of the latest distribution (oneric ocelot? 11.10 I think?) It runs off the disc fine, if a little slow. My laptop is an old packard bell notebook, easynote K5305, running XP with about 40gb hard drive. The wireless wasn't working, (firmware missing) but I reckoned i could sort that out later on. (It is a broadcom card b4318 and from what I've read I should be able to get it working)

So I decided to install. I wanted to keep windows at least at first (mainly for iTunes as I have an iPhone) I therefore decided on a dual boot. I had about 16Gb of spare space on the internal drive which I thought would be enough, as I have a 500gb external HD (buffalo ministation NTFS) for storage.

I wanted to install on the internal HD rather than the external as my laptop only has low speed USB 1.0, so I thought there might be speed issues with running OS from external HD. My windows installation has no problem playing movies from it, but I thought it would be better to have it internal.

Since wireless wasn't working in Ubuntu I was able to tether the laptop to my iPhone and use my 3G internet connection. This worked fine while running from disk.