PDA

View Full Version : User freindly

AndrewJames
December 18th, 2011, 08:22 AM
Okay so basically im extremely new to Ubuntu i currently running Ubuntu 11.10 32 bit. i guess you could say I'm a computer guy but id call myself a tinkerer i know more then the average computer user but not much more. i just want to know why is it that Ubuntu isn't very direct. i.e. for windows to get a program its go here and download the latest version. but for Linux i have all kinds of options i mean are there huge differences between these versions or not. For example wine, I go into USC(Ubuntu Software Center) wine isn't there i have to download synaptic package manager to get it. after i get to it there are the ability to download two different versions. I mean i like Ubuntu and I'm committed to using it but I'm not to computer coding savi. i may be looking at it the wrong way but I'm not sure. anyways any reply is nice.

2F4U
December 18th, 2011, 10:00 AM
You are probably referring to Wine 1.2 vs. Wine 1.3. If you read the program description you would have noticed, that Wine 1.3 is based on a beta version, while Wine 1.2 is the stable version. People have different mind set, some want to run the latest version in order to be able to use some features only available in that version. Other people prefer stability over features. Wine 1.3 may be less stable than 1.2, but has some features not available in previous versions.
Besides, this is not much different from other OS like Windows.

coffeecat
December 18th, 2011, 10:15 AM
@AndrewJames, you posted in "Other OS". Since this is a discussion about Ubuntu, I've moved the thread to the Cafe.

Thread moved to The Community Cafe.

ernestj
December 19th, 2011, 08:16 AM