PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] Frugal install issues.

fealow
December 18th, 2011, 04:48 AM
Hi there I'm new to Ubuntu 11.10 and trying to install it via a frugal install on my C drive (I currently have windows 7 installed). there are no problems with booting and the ubuntu desktop comes up. From there I click on the "install ubuntu" short cut on the desktop. after selecting the language It comes up with the partitioning section of the installer and tells me that i cannot install over the partition windows is on because the ISO image of ubuntu is on that C drive. Now thats fine, i understand that. So I select a free partition that has 277gb's free on it. it has no file system on it and ubuntu recognizes it as free space. i select this partition and go to format for ubuntu.

I choose the following options.

-logical
-ext3
-format partition -check-
- / (for the mountpoint)

when I go to install it tells me something a long the lines of there is no "root" and it fails. I'm at work so I cant give an exact report of the error that is given until i get home. but are there any known problems with frugal installs? or anything i haev to do partition wise to get it too work?

any help would be appreciated as i've been trying to install for days now. i first tried via making a live CD but the disk integrity checker fails every time and ive worked out it comes down to the brand of CD's I'm using (sony).

MAFoElffen
December 18th, 2011, 08:45 AM