PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] trouble with compiz

newcolt
December 17th, 2011, 01:17 PM
I am completely new to linux and have been using it only for the past few weeks. I am using ubuntu 11.10. I wanted to apply different wallpapers for different workspaces. I downloaded CompizConfig Settings Manager, about an hour ago. I did something and now the menu on the left of my screen that appears when i place my cursor on the left end of my screen is gone! without which I don't know how to open the terminal. Along with it, the minimize, close buttons on the top of my windows has also disappeared. All that i can access now is my desktop.

To open any folder, I open the folder on my desktop and direct myself to the desired folder. To access internet, I open a text file using Firefox and then access it.

Kindly help me out!

azkraja
December 17th, 2011, 02:55 PM
Log off first, and while log in screen appears just click (*) like icon where you will find two option Ubuntu and Ubuntu 2D, just check the Ubuntu 2D and log in, you will find application panel on left side, just open Compiz Config Setting Manager again and make correction, be careful while using CCSM, it is making problem with this version 11.10. I totally UN-installed CCSM after waisting my time to fight with. other wise go to terminal and place the command " unity --reset " and let it work until finished, it will take sometime. My advise is not to play with CCSM unless you do not learn about it. Have a nice time, just let you know that i am also a new to Ubuntu and still learning.

newcolt
December 17th, 2011, 05:56 PM
I don't even have the task bar on top! How do I log off? is there some other way to do it, other than selecting it from the menu on top?

tonglen
December 17th, 2011, 08:52 PM
you can log off by going under the curtain and bringing up the command line.
press Ctrl Alt keys and F1 all at same time this will take you into
command line

type in your user id