PDA

View Full Version : [SOLVED] Is there a way to "downgrade" (undo an upgrade)?

swordsintoplowshares
December 14th, 2011, 04:32 AM
I upgraded from 10.10 to 11.04 Natty, not knowing what I was doing (newbie here), and Gnome [Or is it called Ubuntu Classic] is now barely usable, which I suspect may be a problem with my graphics card or the driver. This is the card I have: 00:02.0 VGA compatible controller: Intel Corporation 82865G Integrated Graphics Controller (rev 02)

I'm wondering: can I just enter some commands and revert to Ubuntu 10.10? 10.10 was running just fine, I wish I hadn't upgraded. :confused:

Also, someone in another thread said: "While 'Ubuntu classic' proved unusable, "ubuntu classic (no effects)" worked for me just fine." Is it possible to enter a command to boot into "Ubuntu classic (no effects)"?

Much thanks in advance.

fantab
December 14th, 2011, 04:48 AM
Since 11.04 Ubuntu uses UNITY DESKTOP. If you have successfully upgraded to 11.04 you are using UNITY, unless you are on an old computer with low specs, in which case you are in fallback mode.

Internal upgrade to a newer version is messy more often than not. I always CLEAN INSTALL the newer version of Ubuntu, it is safe and clean.

First of all BACK UP your important Data. Then you will either reinstall 10.10 (which will reach its end of support soon) or you can download the latest 11.10 and install it. The later is a better option.

Hope this helps

swordsintoplowshares
December 14th, 2011, 05:00 AM
Thanks, before I read your reply I had edited my post to be more accurate.

I need to do a file back-up, but being a newbie, I'll have to post a new thread about that because I don't know how to do it via the command line, and the GUI is unusable.

Newbie question: Is it possible to "downgrade" (undo an upgrade), or revert to the version of Ubuntu that was previously on a PC?
Thanks in advance.

mörgæs
December 14th, 2011, 05:13 AM
With this computer I would recommend Xubuntu.