PDA

View Full Version : [SOLVED] HP Pavilion g7 11.10 Install Black Screen

NoJumpJackFlash
December 12th, 2011, 10:24 PM
HP Pavilion g7-1279dx 4GB RAM
Intel HD Graphics card 8.15.10.2372
64 bit Windows 7 Home Premium Edition Service Pack 1

I just got this notebook from Best Buy and the Win7 works fine. I've installed 7.10, 8.04, and 10.04 on various Dell PCs and laptops, so am not a complete newbie to Ubuntu. I downloaded 32 bit 11.10 and created an iso disk. The notebook boots with it and briefly shows:
ISOLINUX...
Loading Boot Menu

Then the purple screen with a couple icons at the bottom. After that there's lots of CD activity, but the screen stays totally black, no blinking cursor or anything. After a couple minutes the CD activity stops and I'm assuming it's at the first installation screen, but I can't see a thing.

I'd tried using the keyboard brightness adjustment on earlier reboots, as another post suggested, but they didn't seem to work. However, on this 5th or 6th reboot they did and I can see the Welcome - Install screen. I must have pushed too many keys the first time. I hope this is the ticket for others having this problem.

kevinfreeman1101
February 5th, 2012, 09:27 PM
HP Pavilion g7-1279dx 4GB RAM
Intel HD Graphics card 8.15.10.2372
64 bit Windows 7 Home Premium Edition Service Pack 1

I just got this notebook from Best Buy and the Win7 works fine. I've installed 7.10, 8.04, and 10.04 on various Dell PCs and laptops, so am not a complete newbie to Ubuntu. I downloaded 32 bit 11.10 and created an iso disk. The notebook boots with it and briefly shows:
ISOLINUX...
Loading Boot Menu

Then the purple screen with a couple icons at the bottom. After that there's lots of CD activity, but the screen stays totally black, no blinking cursor or anything. After a couple minutes the CD activity stops and I'm assuming it's at the first installation screen, but I can't see a thing.