PDA

View Full Version : Development Why use a distro like Ubuntu instead of an Rolling one?

aliasbody
December 11th, 2011, 11:51 PM
I have used a lot of distributions, but like a lot of people I've started with Ubuntu and praticly learned almost everything with him... but there is something I still don't understand...

I use Arch Linux for a while, but I still have Ubuntu just to look at Canonical's work with the newer versions of Ubuntu..

I have quit Ubuntu for 3 reasons:

Very Bloat
Very unupdated
PPA... just ppa
I still see a lot of Ubuntu posts everywhere, people happy whit it, Windows and Mac users that made the switch and are very happy (what makes me very happy seing people using Ubuntu).

I am a developer (a young one but still a developper), and I've choosen Arch Linux over Ubuntu for the updated packages that are more easy to get without using any kind of ppa.

So my question is... For a developper (game or software) like me that don't want to sell them but just have them working on the maximum OS available out there, why choose a distribution like Ubuntu over a distribution like Fedore, Debian and even Arch Linux.

PS : I am not saying that Ubuntu is horrible or something like that "I love ubuntu more than Arch Linux because it was the First one And I'll never forget it, I still use it on my laptop for everyday use", I am just asking for developers just to understand if there is something more that I missed since I am a very young developer and for me the most important are the technologies not the OS per se :S

oldos2er
December 12th, 2011, 04:02 AM
Not a support question; moved to Community Cafe.

cariboo
December 12th, 2011, 04:33 AM
I'd suggest if you want to help make Ubuntu better, why not take part in testing Precise.

I'm not sure why you seem to have a hard time with ppas, and then use arch where updates/upgrades are done form the command line.