PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] Problems with multiple desktops installed

abrand9
December 9th, 2011, 04:24 AM
I am pretty new to linux and ubuntu but have really enjoyed it so far. I started out with a vanilla ubuntu install with the unity desktop (currently on 11.10). I actually liked it quite a bit but wanted to try out some other desktops to see the options they offered. So I installed the kde plasma desktop (kububtu) and the gnome 3 shell through the software center. They all seem to work well. Problem is when i return to the unity desktop a lot of the settings have changed or shortcuts no longer work. I did not make any settings changes in the other desktop environments. Basically my compiz settings were no longer working, so i uninstalled it. I still have issues with fonts, application switcher, workspace (only lets me have one) and keyboard shortcuts.

So my questions are:
Is there a problem with installing multiple desktops? Is this even a good idea to have multiple installed?

Is there a way to reset unity to its defaults without having to uninstall the other desktops?

Thanks

Jay Car
December 9th, 2011, 04:47 AM
Hi! Welcome to Ubuntu Forums!

You can try this (http://www.liberiangeek.net/2011/10/reset-ubuntu-unity-desktop-after-messing-it-up/):
open terminal by pressing the keys below:

Ctrl - Alt - T

When terminal opens, run the command below to reset Unity:

unity --reset

To go further, run the command below:

unity --reset-icons

I don't think it's necessarily a problem installing more than one desktop, but sometimes - when you are first learning your way around - it's good to keep things simple.

On the other hand, trying lots of new stuff can be a fun learning adventure (depending on one's definition of fun) :)

JCC

abrand9
December 9th, 2011, 05:39 AM
Thanks Jay for the response, i tried the reset and I guess unity got uninstalled somehow. So apt-get unity and bam I am back in action. Everything is back to normal, whew what a relief.