PDA

View Full Version : Help me choose a new PC

Janeleaper
December 8th, 2011, 11:04 PM
Hi.

My Dell 530 desktop has died. My technical query and cry of despair are elsewhere on the forum.

Now I need to decide what to replace it with.

I've always bought Dell before, but they only last me about 3 and a half years.

I use my PC for word processing and other office functions, photos, listening to radio, surfing the net etc. I'm not a gamer, though I do listen to radio and watch TV programmes on it occasionally.

I'll want to install Ubuntu on whatever I buy, but I'm not going to build my own computer. I'm only a retired lawyer, and the only technical knowledge I have is what people tell me on this forum.

I'm thinking of getting a Hewlett Packard, because they seem to be reliable. I'm wondering if I should get something better than the budget PC I usually buy, and if it would last longer.

click4851
December 8th, 2011, 11:09 PM
unless you want to tinker with your OS, and "learn to code" as I've heard the suggestion, I would in all honesty buy a MAC if you just want it to work. Since your asking....;)

bluexrider
December 8th, 2011, 11:10 PM
you can get a pre-installed Ubuntu system through System 76 http://www.system76.com/

Basher101
December 8th, 2011, 11:10 PM
unless you want to tinker with your OS, and "learn to code" as I've heard the suggestion, I would in all honesty buy a MAC if you just want it to work. Since your asking....;)

A Mac is good for work, yes. But it depends what programs the OP uses and if those would only run on Windows and/or Ubuntu...

papibe
December 8th, 2011, 11:22 PM
Hi Janeleaper.

Was the 530 working OK for you before it died?
Was it a Dual Core?
Do you have a budget?

Regardless of that, I think you should go with a Sandy Bridge PC (if you prefer Intel). It would give you more upgrade options in the near future.

Just a thought,
Regards.

Janeleaper
December 8th, 2011, 11:35 PM