PDA

View Full Version : In search of comfort

Lalaith
December 8th, 2011, 12:36 AM
Hi, I'm an absolute newbie "a bit" disappointed.

I'm trying to build my way on Ubuntu from a brand new Asus laptop, I've got it already 3 weeks or so running and I still haven't fixed some major problems I've found.

Everyday I make a list of things I would like to fix in order to work confortably on Ubuntu but I go to sleep and my list hasn't got smaller (and I swear the Ubuntu Forums page is my most visited page).
Every change brings me more problems, and on every forum I surf I discover new things to add on my list. I'm considering adding a new post on the "absolute beginners talk" for every question I'd like to have answered, but I fear a mod would take me out for orverwhelming the users. :P

I'm trying to find a reason why I've bought a great PC and I'm renouncing to have 10 hours bat life, a great NVIDIA card running, a simple not-beta skype program running, the Fn keys not working... I'm feeling like I've thrown my money away.

I've changed from Windows to Linux because this beautiful idea of Free Software and all that. I read Ubuntu was the newbie-friendlier distro of Linux. Well, I can assure the Forums are a lot newbie-friendly, but I'm starting to think on switching back to Windows and this lets me down.

I know it's only a matter of time, and I'm learning a lot trying to fix everything, but I've got enough. Someone told me "switch to Mint", but I don't want to skip the problems here and start again, I could have the same problems there.

So please, remind me why I switched to Ubuntu...

CharlesA
December 8th, 2011, 12:49 AM
You switched for your own reasons. :)

Laptops are hit or miss when it comes to running *nix. I have had it run decently on an Asus netbook, but it was a tad touchy. Twofinger scrolling didn't work and the fn keys were a bit wonky.

Basher101
December 8th, 2011, 12:52 AM