PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu_studio] Is installing Ubuntu Studio the same as installing Ubuntu?

peGGi
December 1st, 2011, 09:53 AM
I will hopefully be installing Ubuntu Studio as part of a dual-boot with Windows this weekend. I'm an Ubuntu and Linux newbie.

I realise that there is no Live CD for Ubuntu Studio.

Is the installation procedure different? Does it also have a GUI?

Quinflax
December 1st, 2011, 10:05 AM
It is a significantly different process to installing "normal" Ubuntu, but still fairly easy.

You can find more information about Ubuntu Studio here. There are some links to installation guides in the second block of links (Installation/Upgrade).

https://help.ubuntu.com/community/UbuntuStudio

There is another installation guide here:

http://www.howtoforge.com/the-perfect-desktop-ubuntu-studio-11.10

All fairly easy (don't be put off by the length of the guides). The bit I stumbled at was the selection of software packages to install: use the cursor keys to move up and down the list and use the Spacebar to select/deselect the packages you want to install/not install.

beefheartvliet
December 1st, 2011, 10:27 AM
I use Dream Studio myself, it's based on Ubuntu Studio. It has a easy installer. (just the same as ordinary Ubuntu) Furthermore. I appreciate you won't know anything about this at the moment, but...... Dream Studio is pre-configured with Pulse-Audio Jack Sync, Meaning that You could be playing a Synth through jack whilst having a Vid playing in Youtube.
You can't do that straight out of the box with Ubuntu Studio. It's also a Live Disk.

I'd say to give it a go, I think you will have a better first time Experience ;-)

Here's the link

http://dream.dickmacinnis.com/

peGGi
December 1st, 2011, 08:49 PM
Thanks Quinflax - this definitely eases the challenge, to see what's ahead of me, if I decide to go with Ubuntu Studio (beefhearvliet just threw a spanner in the works!) I'm grateful for the illustrated installation guide.