PDA

View Full Version : [lubuntu] Panel disappear after enabling Compiz

new123
November 29th, 2011, 12:02 AM
[11.10] Whenever I enable Compiz, my panel just disappear and when I change some of settings, even the window border disappear.
I have worked with Compiz with no such problem b4 I formated and reinstalled Lubuntu, but now I don't know why not work, I tryied with making Compiz settings all default, nothing changed. :rolleyes:

Lastguest
November 29th, 2011, 12:16 AM
i had the same issue but being a noob i re installed ubuntu and up to now i have only used compiz to reduce the size of the side menu with no ill effects but before when i unticked the wall it went txts up

i als tried the terminal to reset to no avail. hope u get sorted

new123
November 29th, 2011, 12:47 AM
I fix it only if I set Compiz as my default Window manager:
edit /home/yourusername/.config/lxsession/Lubuntu/desktop.conf and set the window manager to compiz:

[Session]
window_manager=compizWhen I reboot, it loads automaticaly and I enabled Wobbly Windows, 3dCube etc. and it works with no problem..

joelorenzo
November 29th, 2011, 07:15 AM
i have the same sort of issue with ubuntu 11.10. still trying to work it out, but yes, i also was using compiz when my app launcher failed. now i dont know what to do :|

jimav
December 1st, 2011, 02:20 AM
Killing & restaring lxpanel seems to make the panel re-appear.

Sounds like a race condition somewhere...

joelorenzo
December 1st, 2011, 05:11 AM

i am a total noob. how does one go about doing what you suggested?

new123
December 1st, 2011, 04:56 PM

This works, thanks :)

new123
December 1st, 2011, 04:58 PM
i am a total noob. how does one go about doing what you suggested?
To kill it (in Lubuntu), go LXTerminal -> lxtask -> find lxpanel -> Right click -> Kill, then, (in LXTerminal) type lxpanel to re-start the panel and it will appear, I just tested it, works fine.