PDA

View Full Version : [SOLVED] Multi OS on RAID 0 array

megahertz
November 24th, 2011, 10:57 PM
How to install Ubuntu and Windows operating system on a RAID 0 array.:D
(November 2011)

I have spent a week to setup Ubuntu 11.10 on a Raid 0 array configuration with multi operating systems (windows 7 64, Windows XP 64 and Ubuntu 64). I want to share my experience and what I learned.
It's something insane even for an Linux expert, and I'm not a Linux expert. I have search the forums and found many people with the same problem, but no one has fond a simple solution. I will try to explain what I did to finally have my Ubuntu installed on a Raid 0 array.

Introduction
In Linux, you have three different Options to build a Raid (Redundant Array of Independent Disks):
- Hardware Raid - Where the Array is built and is controlled by a independent and dedicated hardware. As the Array is built and is controlled by hardware at low level you can have multi operating systems installed.
- Fake Raid - Where the Array is built and is controlled by the motherboard chip set and setup on BIOS environment. As the Array is built and is controlled by hardware at low level you can have multi operating systems installed.
- Software Raid- Where the Array is built and is controlled by Linux software. As the Array is built and is controlled by Linux software you can NOT have multi operating systems installed.

There are many ways to configure a Raid, but the most used are: (http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/RAID)