PDA

View Full Version : [lubuntu] Lubuntu 11.10 on eeepc 4g

Richardah
November 24th, 2011, 07:52 PM
Hi

I have downloaded an iso of Lubuntu Ocelet alternate (as the "hard disk" is only 4Gb) and put it onto a usb stick.

My eeepc 4g sees the stick on bootup, and I select the instal option.

The keyboard detection goes OK, and stuff starts to unpack.

When I get to the choice of network connection, I choose "wired"

My router log shows the eeepc connecting.

But nothing else happens. Most of the screen is blue, with a thin white band at the bottom.

If I type characters they appear in the white band; if I use the scroll keys I get control characters. I can delete backwards to clear the line.

If I hit enter, the insertion point moves down a line, so that the blue screen gradually moves up on successive hits.

Any idea what I can do?

Should I be using a different distro? - it needs to be as compact as possible.

I am a novice and would be grateful for any ideas.

Thanks

Richard

WasMeHere
November 24th, 2011, 08:13 PM
Hi Richardah,

I suggest that you download the standard Lubuntu install iso file, because then you can run the operating system live and test it before you install it.

This way you can select different versions (release year and month). You might also try another flavour, for example Xubuntu. So please consider Ubuntu 10.04 LTS, and the 11.04, 11.10 versions of Lubuntu and Xubuntu and select the one that co-operates the best with your hardware!

Have fun finding out :-)
Olle

Edit: I just saw that you have only 4GB, so I think that Lubuntu would be the best alternative, or to make a persistent USB drive of (4GB) and then clone it to the internal drive. It should work.

WasMeHere
November 24th, 2011, 08:32 PM
There are also people who run systems from flash memory cards (I think there is a slot for a flash card in the EeePC). But you can definitely consider one of the really small linux systems. Browse the internet, and you will find plenty of them!