PDA

View Full Version : [gnome] Gnome 3 and Oneiric

brimble2010
November 24th, 2011, 09:51 AM
Hey All,

I've been dabbling with Ubuntu for a few years now and I think I've got the basics down.

I've just updated my work laptop to Oneiric (never updating until a release is >6 months old again) and I absolutely hate Unity.

My aim is to install Gnome 3 and I thought that is what I have done, but my desktop look nothing like any of the screenshots that I have seen. Specifcially there isn't the new dock or activties bar.

I was told that it was just a simple case of
sudo aptitude install -DV gnome but I guess I am wrong.

I'm posting a screenshot of what my desktop looks like as I don't know what other information to provide.

Hope someone can help :)

Thanks,
Kristian

typhoon_tip
November 24th, 2011, 09:53 AM
That's not the command I knew...

sudo apt-get install gnome-shell

lolpenguin
November 24th, 2011, 10:27 AM
Your desktop (there's nothing wrong with it) is running GNOME FALLBACK, which is loaded when your computer does not support GNOME Shell (assuming that's what you wanted).
Run

/usr/lib/nux/unity_support_test -p
If you get "yes" to all you can run GNOME Shell (the test is for Unity 3D, but they have similar hardware requirements).
To install GNOME Shell

sudo apt-get install gnome-shell
In LightDM click the session cog and select GNOME NOT GNOME Classic and you will be greeted with the GNOME Shell.

brimble2010
November 24th, 2011, 11:41 AM
kbrimble@castillo:~$ sudo /usr/lib/nux/unity_support_test -p
[sudo] password for kbrimble:
Error: OpenGL rendering is not supported by the root visual

I guess that means no Gnome 3 for me then?

brimble2010
November 25th, 2011, 12:06 PM
Could it be that I am not using the correct nVidia drivers?

kbrimble@castillo:~$ lspci | grep -i nvidia
01:00.0 VGA compatible controller: nVidia Corporation Device 1057 (rev a1)
01:00.1 Audio device: nVidia Corporation HDMI Audio stub (rev a1)

3Miro
November 25th, 2011, 05:09 PM