PDA

View Full Version : [SOLVED] back to gnome

Diametric
November 24th, 2011, 07:07 AM
Hello all,

I've given it the "ol college try" but, I'm not willing to continue with Unity. How do I get rid of unity and go back to gnome...and not loose anything?

Thank to all,
Me

click4851
November 24th, 2011, 07:10 AM
do you use a seperate home partition? That would make things much easier.

Diametric
November 24th, 2011, 07:14 AM
Ah - wish I did. However, I don't have much on the home drive - the install is only 6 weeks old and other then a few apps (which I do not mind re-installing) I can bounce the whole system if need be...I was just hoping I could get rid of Unity and go back to Gnome, non-destructively.

click4851
November 24th, 2011, 07:16 AM
there is a "absolute beginner" sticky about a fallback to classic gnome for 11.10, but its my understanding that in the next release it will be gone.....which means you are only buying 6 months, and then your scrambling again.

DapperMe17
November 24th, 2011, 07:18 AM
Here you have it my friend....http://www.psychocats.net/ubuntu/classicgnome

\\:D/

Diametric
November 24th, 2011, 07:29 AM
Thank you both; much appreciated. There shouldn't be any issue with my recent metasploit/nexpose install with the gnome-fallback action...no?

Thanks for your replies...

DapperMe17
November 24th, 2011, 07:37 AM
There shouldn't be.

Gnome fallback isn't exactly Gnome 2, but it's close.

Gnome 2 is dead, but being revived as "Mate"...you can Google that for more information.

If Gnome fallback isn't your cup of tea...then you may really be suprised by XFCE.

Here's a link for that....http://www.psychocats.net/ubuntu/purexfce

Pretty easy!

tersogar
November 24th, 2011, 07:40 AM
Have you try gnome shell?

Diametric
November 24th, 2011, 07:45 AM
No. But I'm about to run the gnome-fallback suggestion. Any difference between that and the gnome shell you mention?

Diametric
November 24th, 2011, 07:48 AM
There shouldn't be.