PDA

View Full Version : Considering buying a MacBook

Xilon
June 4th, 2006, 11:21 AM
Well I'm a uni student so it would be nice to have a laptop around with me, this would be my first laptop so of course I don't know much about laptops apart from the fact that they are slower and more expensive than the desktops :P

the macbook looks really tasty, seems to be a pretty good laptop in terms of hardware, it looks pretty nice (in the Mac-ish way) and it's not too expensive in comparison with other laptops. I don't mind the idea of using MacOSX, in fact I'm looking forward to it (never used MacOSX before) but regardless I want to be able to install Ubuntu/other distro and possibly even Windows on it as well. I've read that you have to hack the Ubuntu install before it will work and even if you do succeed it won't work properly, especially since macs use EFI now...

I'm just wondering if it's worth buying a macbook or getting a different laptop? and if the latter which laptop would you suggest? I'm looking for something close to $1000 AUD, the macbook would cost me $1600 AUD with a student discount or $1470 AUD in HK so it looks like a good price although still expensive (I just baught pretty much a whole PC for $800...)

curuxz
June 4th, 2006, 11:24 AM
Personaly as a student my self if I get another laptop for the kinda money your looking at I would go with a mobile SPARC, esp now dapper supports the SPARC system. They are wayyyyyyyy faster than any of the other laptops out there. Plus you can run Ubuntu its a win win situation :D

EDIT: http://store.sun.com/CMTemplate/CEServlet?process=SunStore&cmdViewProduct_CP&catid=132680

Xilon
June 4th, 2006, 11:43 AM
Looks like the CPU is a lot slower (not sure what the architecture is) and it is 4x as expensive as a macbook :S

curuxz
June 4th, 2006, 11:45 AM
thats because....drum roll....its a SPARC system. CPU speed aint everything ;)