PDA

View Full Version : Gedit Too Bloated - Leafpad rocks

OffHand
June 4th, 2006, 09:51 AM
Hi all
I have been using Linux for a couple of months now and I am very happy with it.
My crappy system is stable as a rock and I can do 99% of the things I did on my Windows systems. I dual boot for the 1% that is left ;)
I use text editors a lot and untill now I've always used gedit because it's somehow similar to Notepad and is Ubuntu's default basic text editor.
But it always annoyed me how slow it was (especially starting up).
So today I installed Leafpad and it flies. It's superfast and does basicly everything a basic text editor should do. I am very fond of it.
I'm writing this for two reasons. The first is that there might be other people who have been looking for a text editor that is lighter than Gedit. Try Leafpad!
The second one is that I wonder why Gedit is so slow/bloated. I gotta admit it has a bit more features than Leafpad but if I want features I will launch Abiword or Open Office. I would like to hear you thoughts on this. Should Leafpad be the default simple text editor or are you happy with Gedit? Or am I just whining? I have no interest in bashing Gedit but it is a bit too bloated for a basic text editor in my opinion.

I have added a poll.

egon spengler
June 4th, 2006, 10:02 AM
am I just whining?

Probably, yeah

OffHand
June 4th, 2006, 10:12 AM
Probably, yeah
Haha I knew this would happen when I typed this.

curuxz
June 4th, 2006, 11:17 AM
Personaly I do use bluefish for stuff bluefish was not ment for lol, but as a KDE user I despise Kate, it is such a peice of junk. The idea of auto loading previously closed files, which in my case results in it trying to establish ftp connections all over the place, is a morronic idea. If I want a file open I will open it myself!!!

Leafpad is cool :)

shrimphead
June 4th, 2006, 11:46 AM