PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] First Time Install

Hipster Doofus
November 20th, 2011, 03:52 AM
Complete noob here. I have been having one hell of a time getting to the stage I am now at.

I have finally got grub to work. Took two days of trial & error using 'boot repair' disc.

At the boot screen I get the attached picture.

If I go with the top selection I get to the wallpaper screen & nothing else. (first attempt saw a screen with scrolling text - 2nd picture)

If I go with the second selection into 'recovery mode' then at the next screen go 'normal boot', I can get into the system.

Even though I am going into recovery mode, 'normal boot' is it getting me to where I want to be?

Hipster Doofus
November 20th, 2011, 08:15 AM
I give up. Now when booting up it looks like the graphics driver has snuffed it. Ah well back to windows.

coldraven
November 20th, 2011, 09:00 AM
I suspect that the install disc had errors on it. Unlike an audio or video disc every single bit on an install disc has to be correct.
Try burning another one at a slow speed.
Sorry it did not work for you, I have never had any problems installing Ubuntu over the last few years.

Hipster Doofus
December 23rd, 2011, 04:23 AM
Thanks coldraven. I'm back for more.
I've dug a hole so deep..............:popcorn:

I just tried to install from a fresh perspective. Windows 7 first then Ubuntu. Still having problems.

I partitioned a spare drive to this-

/dev /sbd

/dev /sbd1

Made a primary, ext 3 in it.

Booted to ubuntu hoping to get it to automatically install to the created partition. It refused so I had to do it manually.

Please see if I am doing this right.

From the start I wasn't sure what to do about the swap volume so I just left it as is. I am setting it up on a total of 20 - 25gb.

To the above I have-

mount point = /

boot loader went to /dev /sbd1

Rebooted after the install & it went straight into windows. AHHHHHHHHH!