PDA

View Full Version : [SOLVED] How can I create key-shortcuts for applications ?



silviutp
November 18th, 2011, 09:54 AM
How can I create key-shortcuts for applications ?
Is it possible to create shortcuts using windows key ? I'm used to it from windows and it would be very nice i I could open a Nautilius Windows with WinKey+E.
I'm using Ubuntu 11.10 with Gnome and LightDM.

jerrrys
November 19th, 2011, 06:22 PM
haven't looked, but may find your answer here

http://www.googlubuntu.com/results/?cx=006238239194895611142:u-ocqbntw_o&q=shortcuts+using+windows+key&sa=Search&cof=FORID:9#855

Bobhuber
November 19th, 2011, 06:53 PM
How can I create key-shortcuts for applications ?
Is it possible to create shortcuts using windows key ? I'm used to it from windows and it would be very nice i I could open a Nautilius Windows with WinKey+E.
I'm using Ubuntu 11.10 with Gnome and LightDM.
With gnome3 - Universal Access Settings (top icon) - Typing - Keyboard Settings - Shortcuts - Custom Shortcuts

silviutp
November 19th, 2011, 07:34 PM
With gnome3 - Universal Access Settings (top icon) - Typing - Keyboard Settings - Shortcuts - Custom Shortcuts

I've just try that, but it doesn't seem to work...
I've added a new Custom Shortcut and by default it's 'disabled'.
It says: "To edit a shortcut, click the row and hold down the new keys or press Backspace to clear". When I click on it and try some key combination, nothing happens...

Bobhuber
November 19th, 2011, 07:49 PM
I've just try that, but it doesn't seem to work...
I've added a new Custom Shortcut and by default it's 'disabled'.
It says: "To edit a shortcut, click the row and hold down the new keys or press Backspace to clear". When I click on it and try some key combination, nothing happens...
It's very sensitive to mouse click. Highlight the shortcut with single click and then single click again (once) until you see dialog telling you to enter key combination. You will see this combination highlighted where it says disabled if you have done it correctly.Works fine for me but I had to play with it a bit to get the hang of it.

silviutp
November 19th, 2011, 08:20 PM
It's very sensitive to mouse click. Highlight the shortcut with single click and then single click again (once) until you see dialog telling you to enter key combination. You will see this combination highlighted where it says disabled if you have done it correctly.Works fine for me but I had to play with it a bit to get the hang of it.

:) this is so lame, you have to click exactly where it writes 'Disabled' or the old combination.
I figured it out now. Thanks for help!

however, i cannot use winKey+other_letters.