PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] Ubuntu failed upgrade from natty to onieric leaves OS unusable

artemi89
November 17th, 2011, 12:43 AM
Hello,

I am not an expert user by a long shot, I have used Ubuntu often in the college computers for programming and other things (I study physics, so programming means simulation programs with fortran, nothing helpful for this) so when I had to install Linux to use some astronomy programs to process and analyse data I went with an Ubuntu 30Gb partition using wubi. In other words: I may not be a complete beginner but if the talk gets technical I will get lost pretty fast (I at least understand and use frequently the terminal, but not much more).

So the problem is the following, I installed the Natty Narwhal version of Ubuntu without problems, managed to install every program I needed and got things working right after MUCH work (astronomer-made spaghetti-programs are nightmares to setup), and then Oneiric Ocelot comes out and the Update Manager prompts me to upgrade my distro. The first few attempts end up canceled because the connection jumps or something, but 2 days ago I finally get to download everything and begin the install, and that's when everything goes to hell. Mid-install the installer begins to popup warnings about files it could not configure or had errors, i copied down which ones:

-gconf2-common (it said something about exit status 107, I think)
-libconf2-4
-libedataserver1.2-15
-libcamel-1.2-29
-libebook1.2-12

After asking me to send reports about the errors and me doing so the manager says that due to an excessive amount of errors the install is canceled (the progress bar was around half full) and it will restore the system to before the installation, but when I boot the Ubuntu partition I get (apart from taking a significantly longer time to boot) the login screen from Oneiric Ocelot!