PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] GRUB- error: no such partition grub rescue>

Lottie82
November 16th, 2011, 09:42 PM
GRUB- error: no such partition grub rescue>
The following error has been plaguing me.
So here goes:
I had a sony vaio laptop with windows on one partition and ubuntu which was in use on the other. I had enough and restarted my laptop to load windows at the bottom of the screen after pressing the options button during reload. Then from there had the message as above, have read so many threads its unreal as nothing is helping me. I have no disk and no usb with anytging to load or boot from. I am complete novice, i have done as follows
grub> rootnoverify (hd0,0)
grub> makeactive
grub> chainloader +1
grub> boot
rootverify did nto work so replaced with set root=(hd0,0) which does work but as soon as i type make active i get unknown command
also it does not say grub it says
grub rescue>

and my ls details are
(hd0)(hd0,2)(hd0,1)
i have tried all sudo,lido,mbr and any others i come across and they all say unknown command

Pls can someone understand my rambling and help me?
anything else needed or i can do without the standard get a boot cd??
thank you peeps
peace

drs305
November 16th, 2011, 09:50 PM
Lottie82,

Welcome to the Ubuntu forums. Sorry about the issue which brought you here.

Did you uninstall Ubuntu? I'm having difficulty understanding what you did when you 'had enough'.

If Ubuntu is still installed on either sda1 (hd0,1) or sda2 (hd0,2), we may be able to get it to boot. If it's not on either of those partitions, you aren't going to be able to do anything from the Grub rescue prompt.

The prompt means that the Grub information found by the BIOS points to a partition or files which Grub cannot find. It can't load modules to boot itself or other OS's unless it can find those files.

You can see what is on sda1 and sda2 but running the following commands:

ls (hd0,1)/
ls (hd0,2)/