PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] Basic server setup advice

Warthaug
November 16th, 2011, 05:16 PM
My apologies if this is the wrong section of the forums for this.

I am a new immunology professor/scientist, and am in the process of setting up my first lab. I've used ubuntu as a desktop system for 5+ years, managed a small ubuntu-based cluster for the past 3 (which I did not setup, btw), and as such am fairly familiar with ubuntu as a desktop environment.

As part of my lab setup process I am putting in place a minimal server. The main purpose is file storage (we'll generate a few TB of data every year), but I also want a wiki (for experimental protocols) and backup capacity. because there server will be lightly used (file storage/access being the major thing; with less than a dozen users), I was planning on using modest computer running ubuntu as a front-end, and rack-mounted RAID for expandable storage (i.e. devices like these):
http://eshop.macsales.com/shop/hard-drives/RAID/Rack_Mount/FireWire_USB3_eSATA_1U

The server will be managed primarily (hopefully solely) via remote desktop.

My goal for the server is fairly minimal; I want to:
1) Run a file server, accessed internally via SAMBA/CIFS
2) Provide external access to these files via SFTP or another protocol
3) Run a Wiki
4) Backup lab computers nightly to the server
5) Mirror the server nightly onto a secondary (backup) server

The actual amount of traffic will be quite small (a dozen or so users, maximum, accessing from a handful of computers). I have been looking at some options, and aside from the backup portion, turnkey linux seems to be an easy way to get these things up and running. That said, having never used turnkey before I am not certain this is the route I want to go.

So now for my questions:
1) Is turnkey the easiest way to implement this? If not, what would you recommend?