PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] ubuntu 11.10 nvidia

mr hippie
November 15th, 2011, 12:40 AM
Hi,
I am a newbie trying to get multi monitor support, in the process I some how lost all monitor support. When starting Ubuntu 11.10 the screen is now all garbled. I can not log in. Is there away to load a video driver in command line?

Thanks,

lolpenguin
November 15th, 2011, 10:09 AM
When you start the computer, does it load LightDM or a tty
A tty would look like this:

Ubuntu tty1
Ubuntu login:

lolpenguin
November 15th, 2011, 10:11 AM
If it loads a tty run

jockey-text
and uninstall and re-install any drivers.

If it loads a graphical session press Ctrl+Alt+F4 to open a tty.

randywilharm
November 15th, 2011, 10:31 AM
Hi,
I am a newbie trying to get multi monitor support, in the process I some how lost all monitor support. When starting Ubuntu 11.10 the screen is now all garbled. I can not log in. Is there away to load a video driver in command line?

Thanks,

You should download the latest NVIDIA driver here:

http://www.nvidia.com/Download/index.aspx?lang=en-us (http://www.nvidia.com/Download/index.aspx?lang=en-us)

You must install this as ROOT and you will have to turn
off gnome. The command is gdm stop or lightdm stop depending
on what you have for a desktop manager.

mr hippie
November 15th, 2011, 06:26 PM
I just get a colored garbled screen. Since this is a dual boot vista/ubuntu I will have to shut down and see if I can get to the tty by pressing Ctrl+Alt+F4

Thank you for your response as well.

mr hippie
November 15th, 2011, 07:10 PM
So, I could not get to tty from my 11.10 install (dual boot). But I tried it on my other hard-drive (SSD) running 11.04, that was from my old laptop and was not working on my pc. The command 'jockey-text' unfroze it and now I am up an running.