PDA

View Full Version : [lubuntu] Installing Fortran compiler gcc/gcc-fortran

zerow33
November 12th, 2011, 05:40 AM
Hi

I am new to Linux and I just installed Lubuntu on an old machine (Intel Celeron 450MHz, with 255MB ram) with the alternate CD. What I wanted to do on this machine is to compile a Fortran 77 code so that I can use it on a cluster (which runs on Unix). However, I am having lot of problem with installing the compiler. Being the first time user on Linux, I have search through the web to figure out that I need to install g77 or gfortran. Now I got a copy of gcc-fortran-4.6.2.tar.bz2 on my desktop, but I have no idea on how to install it……. I tried sudo apt-get install gcc-fortran-4.6.2 but that doesn’t work. What exactly do I need to do to get the fortran compiler install on my Linux system? By the way this Linux machine have no connection to internet.

Any help would be greatly appreciated and many thanks in advance.

The version of lubuntu that I have installed is 11.10

Rodney9
November 12th, 2011, 06:00 AM
Hi

I am new to Linux and I just installed Lubuntu on an old machine (Intel Celeron 450MHz, with 255MB ram) with the alternate CD. What I wanted to do on this machine is to compile a Fortran 77 code so that I can use it on a cluster (which runs on Unix). However, I am having lot of problem with installing the compiler. Being the first time user on Linux, I have search through the web to figure out that I need to install g77 or gfortran. Now I got a copy of gcc-fortran-4.6.2.tar.bz2 on my desktop, but I have no idea on how to install it……. I tried sudo apt-get install gcc-fortran-4.6.2 but that doesn’t work. What exactly do I need to do to get the fortran compiler install on my Linux system? By the way this Linux machine have no connection to internet.

Any help would be greatly appreciated and many thanks in advance.

The version of lubuntu that I have installed is 11.10

I maybe not be much help here as I don't even know what fortran is.