PDA

View Full Version : [all variants] gnome-fallback Ubuntu 11.10 vs. xubuntu

bob12564
November 9th, 2011, 02:22 PM
I just bought a new HP Compaq laptop with Windows 7 and I want to set up a dual boot with some version of ubuntu which I've been running on 3 other computers for about 3 years.

I don't want to use Unity and I am aware of the gnome-fallback install to get something that looks like the gnome 2.0 desktop.

Does anyone have a sense of whether the fallback code will be maintained in future versions or does it make sense to move to xubuntu/xfce which looks more like the old gnome classic desktop?

I tried installing xubuntu but unlike my past ubuntu installs, the xubuntu (and maybe ubuntu) installer doesn't seem to want to automatically resize the partitions to create space for linux. I'm not comfortable doing this myself. There are partitions for HP Tools and Recovery. It looks like there's a partition sda2 that can be shrunk but I don't know the impact to the other partitions. Will Tools, Recovery, and even Windows 7 still work?

I just want to use the computer and not get too involved in the mechanics of it. Simple answers, please! And thanks for the help!!

Gatemaze
November 9th, 2011, 02:52 PM
A word of warning, any type of resizing is a risky water operation. If I were you I would stick with 10.04 (as I actually do). It is much more stable and it has gnome2. You will have to upgrade in two years but till then who knows what will be happening. Regarding the partitioning it is a tricky operation but it is something that you should learn at some point.

Gatemaze
November 9th, 2011, 02:54 PM
It also occured to me that if it is a problem xith the xubuntu installer then you can install through the usual ubuntu cd if it works fine and install from the repo the xubuntu dekstop.

bob12564
November 9th, 2011, 03:11 PM
I still have the original question about which version to install: ubuntu with the fallback vs. xubuntu/xfce.